Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Cross Country Places Third at Centennial Championship

Women's Cross Country Places Third at Centennial Championship

HAVERFORD, Pa. – Running on its home course, the Haverford College women's cross country team placed third at the Centennial Conference Championship. The Fords earned a pair of All-Centennial Conference honorees in the process. Haverford was edged out for second place by Dickinson as Johns Hopkins repeated as conference champions.

Katie Sullivan repeated her performance of a year ago as she placed sixth overall in the field with a time of 21:24.0. That place earns her first-team All-Centennial Conference accolades for the second straight season. Nicole Giannetti earned second-team All-Centennial Conference honors for the first time in her career as she placed 13th with a time of 21:58.7. Giannetti was also awarded the Centennial Conference's Scholar-Athlete of the Year by virtue of holding the highest GPA among the all-conference recipients.

Amelia Keyser-Gibson, MaryKate Cavanaugh, and Abigail Doroshow rounded out Haverford's scoring runners. Keyser-Gibson placed 21st overall with a time of 22:25.9. Her classmate, Cavanaugh, was two places behind her with a time of 22:39.1. Doroshow placed 28th with a time of 22:57.4 while Sarah Wade was also among the 30 finishers with her mark of 23:06.5. Alison Love was the team's seventh finisher in a time of 23:45.6.

The Fords' eighth through 10th runners across the line swept the 53rd through 55th positions with Sophie Drew (24:15.7), Mckenna Krall (24:16.3), and Julia Smith (24:19.1) claiming those positions. Allison Hacker (24:25.2) and Amanda Glavin (24:35.5) rounded out Haverford's contingent in the varsity race.

By virtue of placing higher than Swarthmore, the Fords also earned the first point of the year in the race towards the Hood Trophy. The Garnet were 18 points behind the Fords and in fourth place in the team standings.

Women's cross country will now prepare for the Mideast Regional on Saturday, November 12. That race, hosted by DeSales, will award automatic qualifiers to the NCAA Championships for the top two teams in the field.