Zoe Wong Named to Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Team

Zoe Wong Named to Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Team

Full Philadelphia Inquirer / Philly-SIDA 2017 Academic All-Area Team Release

HAVERFORD, Pa. – Haverford senior co-captain setter Zoe Wong was named to the Philadelphia Inquirer 2017 Volleyball Academic All-Area team, the Philadelphia Area Sports Information Directors Association (Philly-SIDA) announced on Wednesday morning.  

Wong, a biology major, is the first Haverford volleyball player to garner the plaudit since Keri Godbe at the end of the 2014 season. In total, Wong is the sixth member of the squad to be named Academic All-Area. In order to be eligible for Academic All-Area honors, a student-athlete must be in her second year at the institution and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or better. The team is voted on by the 30 sports information offices of the institutions from the Philadelphia metropolitan area.

Last month, Wong was named to first team All-Centennial Conference honors for the second straight season after a stellar senior campaign for the Fords. Wong's first team selection represented the 17th straight season Haverford has placed at least one member of its team on the All-Centennial first team. In Total, Wong is the 26th first team selection in program history.

Wong ranked third in the Centennial Conference with 9.18 assists per set, a mark that was also good for 74th in Division III. She established new single-match highs in assists (50, vs. Catholic on September 15) and total blocks, (three, vs. Moravian on September 23) this season. Her 973 total assists in 2017 was the 11th best single-season output in program history.

The product of San Mateo, Calif. leaves the Haverford program in the top five in program history in assists (3,010), assists per set (6.81), service attempts (1,404) and assist percentage (.398). Her .273 career attack percentage is good for eighth all-time in program history.

Joining Wong on the 2017 Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area squad are fellow Centennial Conference student-athletes Mehra den Braven and Sarah Girard (Swarthmore) along with Kyra Coundourides and Dara Peric (Temple), Melanie Malseed (Neumann) and Arden Vizzard (Immaculata). Den Braven was named the overall Performer of the Year.