Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Tennis Honored with ITA Academic Awards

Women's Tennis Honored with ITA Academic Awards

ITA Release

HAVERFORD, Pa. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) has announced that the Haverford College women's tennis team has received the All-Academic Team award and had 10 players achieve scholar-athlete status.

This marks the 15th consecutive year that the women's tennis team was honored with an ITA All-Academic Team award. To receive an All-Academic award, a team must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or above.

The Haverford scholar-athletes honored were Izzy Angstman, Jane Bary, Sam Berg, Renata DiDonato, Clara Farrehi, Julia Gan, Ananya Prakash, Emily Shutman, Annika Ulrich, and Natalie Williams. For student-athletes to earn an ITA Scholar-Athlete status they must be a varsity letter winner and have a grade point average of at least 3.50. Those 10 student-athletes honored gave Haverford the fourth-highest number of student-athletes honored across all of Division III.

In addition to the academic success, the 2018 spring season was also a historically strong campaign on the courts. Haverford finished the year ranked No. 40 in the ITA's national ranking, marking the first time in program history the Fords have ever achieved a national ranking. The Fords went 13-4 overall, including an 8-2 record in Centennial Conference regular season matches to earn the No. 3 seed in the postseason tournament. In the semifinals, Haverford avenged one of those regular season defeats with a 5-1 victory against Swarthmore to earn the program's second all-time appearance in the Centennial Conference Championship match.