Women's Lacrosse Swarms Bryn Mawr

Shannon Rafsol
Shannon Rafsol

BRYN MAWR, Pa. – The Haverford College women's lacrosse team (7-8, 3-5 CC) took down host Bryn Mawr (1-13, 0-8 CC) on Wednesday afternoon at Applebee Field, tallying 18 goals on 38 shots in an 18-3 victory. 

The Fords scored the first seven goals of the contest to take a 7-0 lead with 17:19 left in the first half. Molly Lausten found the back of the net just thirty seconds into the contest before Allie Gibbons tallied twice in the first three minutes of action. 

Sarina Manetta tallied a pair of goals in the contest to pull to 99 career goals heading into her final game as a member of the Fords. Manetta also won seven draw controls to tie the single-season program-record for draw controls in a single-season. The elder Manetta sister now shares the mark with Diana Perry, who had 57 draw controls in 2014. In addition, Manetta currently owns the Haverford single-season draw controls per game record with 3.80 per contest.

Julia Manetta picked up three assists to pull to 32 on the season, just three shy of the record currently held by Alexa Pesce who achieved the feat in 2010. The younger Manetta sister can enter the Haverford record book with four assists in the final contest. 

Shannon Rafsol matched a career-high with three goals and finished with a career-best four points. In total, 10 different Fords found the back of the net with as Averi Gaines and Maura Grant joined Gibbons, Lausten, Sarina Manetta and Rafsol as multi-goal scorers in the contest.

Freshman Claire Armstrong had a team-high three ground balls on the day. Tatiana Lathion, Rachel Romens and Paige Walton combined for the 60 minutes between the pipes with Walton playing the entirety of the second half.

For Bryn Mawr, Allison Spain registered a hat-trick, converting on each of her three shots. Katie Alpert made 15 saves for the Owls. 

Haverford will return home to close out the regular season with a Hood Trophy matchup against Swarthmore on Saturday afternoon at noon. The matchup is also Senior Day at Swan Field as the Fords honor the dedication and career accomplishments of their eight seniors: Courtney Carter, Claire Cote, Averi Gaines, Maura Grant, Stephanie Kisciras, Lucy Koch, Sarina Manetta and Shannon Rafsol