Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gearinger Paces No. 4 Men's Cross Country at Main Line Invitational

Dylan Gearinger
Dylan Gearinger

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The fourth-ranked Haverford College Men's Cross Country team placed third behind Villanova and Penn at the four-mile Main Line Invitational on Friday evening at the Alumni Cross Country Course. The Fords topped Division III entrants Widener, Swarthmore, and Muhlenberg while outpacing Division I Saint Joseph's. Overall, Haverford finished with 66 points, well clear of fourth-place Widener's 149-point performance.

Dylan Gearinger was the top Division III finisher in a career-best time of 19:47.4, more than 10 seconds faster than his previous personal record in the distance. Greg Morgan finished seventh overall in 19:51.1, just under a full minute faster than his personal best from a season ago. Graham Peet was the third Haverford finisher in 22nd place, crossing in 20:21.6, a new career best. Ryan Herlihy finished 25th (20:24.7) while Sam McCalpin was just behind Herlihy in 27th with a career-best 20:26.4.

First year Jamie Moreland had a promising four-mile debut, crossing the finish in 35th place with a time of 20:49.2 while Matt Katz crossed in 40th overall with a career-best 20:57.2. First year Peter Buckley was 44th (20:59.8) while David Watt followed directly behind in 45th (21:02.3).

Chris Goings (53rd, 21:29.2), Amos Karlsen (66th, 22:09), Conor Madden (72nd, 22:15.8), Nico Tripeny (77th, 22:26.3), Jeffrey Allen (85th, 22:46.9), Ian Woodhouse (87th, 22:48.9), Hiro Kawakatsu (92nd, 23:05.8) and Gene Perry (93rd, 23:18.8) rounded out Haverford finishers in the top 100.

Following a week away from competition, the Fords will next be in action at the prestigious Paul Short Invitational on the campus of Lehigh University. The race is slated for Saturday, September 29 at 9:30 a.m and will serve as a key regional test for Haverford. Last season, the Fords were the top Division III finisher in the Paul Short Gold race en route to an eighth place national finish.