Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

No. 5 Men's Cross Country Opens Season With Alumni Open Race

Greg Morgan
Greg Morgan

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The fifth-ranked Haverford College men's cross country team opened up the 2018 season with the annual three-mile alumni/open race on Saturday afternoon. In total, 49 entrants competed between the varsity team, alumni, and unattached participants. The overall title went to senior Greg Morgan, who paced the field with a career-best time of 14:41.

Fellow senior Dylan Gearinger was second in a career-best time of 14:49. Eric Arnold '12 was the top alumni finisher, crossing in a time of 14:51 for third place. Seniors Graham Peet and Ryan Herlihy rounded out the top five with finishes in 14:56, and 15:01, respectively. Junior Sam McCalpin (15:10), sophomore Matt Katz (15:20), junior Conor Madden (15:22), first year Jamie Moreland (15:22), and first year Peter Buckley (15:23) rounded out the top 10 finishers on an overcast day that featured ideal temperatures for racing. 

A complete list of the afternoon's results is available at the top of this page.

The full list of alumni finishers included: Arnold, Charlie Marquardt '16, James Stadler '18, Ben Siqueros '12, Brian Baillie '05, Michael Riccio '13, Marcelo Jauregui-Volpe '18, Charlie Hale '17, Jason Tripp '94, Ivo Milic-Strkalj '13, Tyler Fong '18, Mark Burgmann '09, Paul Bisceglio '09, Graham Barrett '15, Liam Bassett '18, Jacob Olshansky '12, Sunil Adige '09, Jason Oakes '09, Evan Hamilton '17, Paul Song '83, Bill Ristow '16, and Nick Vechick '10.

The event was the first tune-up for the Fords, who will next host the Main Line Invitational on Friday, September 14 at 5:30 p.m on campus at the Alumni Cross Country Course.