Men's Cross Country Decorated With USTFCCCA Academic Honors

Men's Cross Country Decorated With USTFCCCA Academic Honors

USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams

USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College men's cross country team was named one of the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches' Association's (USTFCCCA) 2017 Division III Men's All-Academic Teams as announced by the organization in a release on Friday afternoon. To be considered an All-Academic Team, programs must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.10 or greater and competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional Meet. The Fords were one of 167 men's teams to recieve the honor following the 2017 season.

Haverford is no stranger to the All-Academic Team award as the team has won the Scholar Team of the Year three times (2007, 2010-11) and has garnered All-Academic Team designation in each year of the award's history dating back to 1996.

In addition to the Academic Team Award, Haverford was the only program to place seven members on the USTFCCCA All-Academic Individuals Award list.  The seven honorees is the second most in program history, eclipsing the six honorees from a season ago. The 2008 and 2009 squads both also had six honorees.  In order to qualify for this honor, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of 3.30 and finish in the top 25 percent of their respective regional championship meet.

Juniors Dylan Gearinger, Ryan Herlihy, Greg Morgan and Graham Peet joined seniors Henry Woods and Marcelo Jauregui-Volpe and sophomore Sam McCalpin as honorees. Woods, Herlihy, Peet and Morgan are all repeat winners with Woods and Peet garnering the honor for the third straight campaign.

Haverford finished eighth at the NCAA Division III National Championships in Elsah, Illinois in November. The eighth place finish was the best performance for the Fords since the 2012 team finished in a tie for second place. Woods paced the Fords with an 18th place finish in a time of 24:42.90, picking up his second All-America finish in as many seasons. Woods' honor represents the third straight year that the Fords have had an All-American finisher.