Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Cross Country Captures Centennial Conference Championship

Henry Woods
Henry Woods

GETTYSBURG, Pa. – The third-ranked Haverford College men's cross country team captured the Centennial Conference Championship for the fourth straight season and the 22nd time in the last 25 campaigns, outlasting No. 14 Johns Hopkins, who finished second, on the Gettysburg College campus. Henry Woods was named Centennial Conference Men's Runner of the Year after capturing the individual title for the Fords. 

Haverford scored 21 points, easily outpacing the Blue Jays, who scored 54. Dickinson scored 79 to finish in third place. The 21 points is the best performance since the 2014 season, when the Fords also scored 21 points. 

In rainy and wet conditions, Haverford dominated the 8K championship meet, with four runners crossing the finish line before the top finisher from Johns Hopkins. Woods took the individual title with a time of 25:12.5, with Graham Peet following in second with a time of 25:15.3. Third place overall belonged to Ryan Herlihy, who crossed in 25:21.4 and Dylan Gearinger rounded out the top five with a time of 25:37.3.

Sam McCalpin finished in 10th to round out the scorers for the Fords with a time of 25:54.1. Greg Morgan crossed in 25:56.9 for an 11th place finish while Marcelo Jauregui-Volpe was 14th in in 26:03.8. 

Outside of the Fords top seven, Matt Willig finished 16th overall in a time of 26:12.9 while James Stadler was 22nd in 26:33.9. Lincoln Satterthwaite took a 29th place overall finish in 26:52.9. Chris Goings was 34th, just over the 27-minute mark at 27:07.1. David Watt rounded out the Haverford finishers in the championship race with a 39th place finish in 27:12.7.

With finishes in the top seven overall, Woods, Peet, Herlihy, and Gearinger will all be named first-team All-Centennial Conference. McCalpin, Morgan and Jauregui-Volpe will be named to the second team by virtue of a top 14 finish. The honor represents the third straight Centennial Conference recognition for Woods and the second straight for Herlihy, Gearinger, Peet and Morgan. McCalpin, and Jauregui-Volpe pick up all-conference plaudits for the first time.

By virtue of placing higher than Swarthmore, the Fords also earned another point in the race towards the Hood Trophy. Swarthmore finished in fifth place overall with 150 points.

In the open race that followed the varsity championship, the Fords finished second, with Matt Katz crossing in eighth overall with a time of 27:18.1 to pace Haverford. Hiro Kawakatsu (27:40.0), Gene Perry (27:48.1), James Barker (28:00.6), and Tyler Fong (28:11.3) rounded out the top five finishers for Haverford. 

Haverford will next return to action at the Mideast Regional on November 11. The race is hosted by Dickinson in Newville, Pa.  The top two teams in the field will qualify automatically for the NCAA Championships, which will be held on Saturday, November 18 in Elsah, Illinois on the campus of Principia College.