Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Dylan Gearinger Named CC Outstanding Outdoor Track Performer

Dylan Gearinger
Dylan Gearinger

Full Centennial Conference Release

HAVERFORD, Pa. Haverford College junior Dylan Gearinger was named the Centennial Conference Outstanding Track Performer for the 2018 outdoor season, repeating the honor from the 2017-18 indoor campaign, the conference office announced in a release on Tuesday afternoon.

Gearinger captured both the 5,000-meter and 10,000 meter titles, capturing the pair of goal medals at the conference meet at Ursinus earlier this month. Gearinger's outdoor distance double comes off the heels of the Indoor Performer of the Year designation, an indoor national championship in the 3,000 meters and an illustrious junior track campaign that has already included four Centennial Conference Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week awards and eight total event titles. 

The Berwick, Pa. product has etched his name into the record books for the Fords as he ran the fourth-fastest 5,000 meter time in the history of the outdoor program at the Penn Relays on April 26, delivering with a 14:14.68 time in arguably the sport's most prestigious collegiate event. Gearinger's 10,000 meter time of 30:17.22 at the Sam Howell Invitational at Princeton on April 6 is the eighth-fastest in program history in that distance. 

Gearinger currently holds the fourth-fastest 5,000 meter time in Division III in addition to the eighth-fastest 1,500 mark and the 14th-fastest 10,000-meter time.

Haverford will have one final chance to qualify athletes for the NCAA Championships as the Fords head to the Mideast Regional at Widener on Thursday, May 17.  The NCAA Division III Championships are slated for May 24-27 in La Crosse, Wis. and the campus of University of Wisconsin - La Crosse.

First-team All-Centennial Conference
Dylan Gearinger, (5,000 meters, 10,000 meters)
Liam Lynch (800 meters)
Greg Morgan (1,500 meters)
Graham Peet (3,000 meter steeplechase) 

Second-team All-Centennial Conference
Henry Woods (5,000 meters)
Ryan Herlihy (10,000 meters)
James Stadler (3,000 meter steeplechase)
Gene Perry (4 x 400 meter relay)
Tyler Fong (4 x 400 meter relay)
Scott Pollara (4 x 400 meter relay)
Liam Lynch (4x 400 meter relay)
Jack Brower (High Jump)

Honorable Mention All-Centennial Conference 
Graham Peet (5,000 meters)

Sportsmanship Team
Tyler Fong