Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis Garners ITA Academic Awards

Men's Tennis Garners ITA Academic Awards

ITA Release

HAVERFORD, Pa. – For the 18th straight season, the Haverford College men's tennis team was recognized with the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic award. The Fords, who were one of 95 men's teams in Division III to earn the All-Academic Team Award, also had 11 student-athletes recognized as ITA Scholar-Athletes. Those 11 ITA Scholar-Athletes tied for the third highest total in Division III.

In order to earn the ITA All-Academic Award, teams must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.20 to receive the honor. The Fords have accomplished that feat every year since 2001. To be a scholar-athlete, players must be a varsity letter winner and have at least a 3.50 grade point average.

The 12 student-athletes to garner ITA Scholar-Athlete status were: David Kong, Pranav Krishnan, Caleb Mayer, Josh Moskovitz, Dais Nakayama, Arnav Patodia, Eli Phelps, Ishaan Prinz, Benjamin Soloway, Nick Sweeney, and Kevin Yan.

Men's tennis won 11 matches during the regular season and advanced to the Centennial Conference semifinals after a third place finish with a 7-2 conference record during the regular season. Haverford has now made the postseason tournament 12 times in the past 13 seasons and finished the 2018 campaign ranked 13th in the Atlantic South Rankings. Haverford has made it to at least the semifinal round of the conference tournament during each of its postseason appearances.