Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis Stopped by Swarthmore in CC Semifinals

Josh Moskovitz
Josh Moskovitz

SWARTHMORE, Pa. – The Haverford College men's tennis team fell to Swarthmore by a 5-0 score during the Centennial Conference Tournament semifinals on Saturday. The Fords were locked in tight matches throughout the day, but the No. 19 Garnet captured the critical points to move on to the championship match.

Swarthmore stared its day with a pair of 8-5 wins against the Fords' Nos. 2 and 3 pairings. The Garnet clinched the sweep of doubles with a tough battle between some of the top duos in the region. The pairing of Josh Moskovitz and David Kong, the No. 12 ranked pairing in the Atlantic South region, was locked in a seven-all battle. However, the Garnet won the next two games for an eventual 9-7 victory.

Wins at No. 3 and No. 6 singles ultimately sealed the team score for the Garnet. The match reached decision after five matches, but the Fords were battling in a number of other matches throughout the lineup in addition to their tough defeats. Josh Moskovitz looked to be on the verge of reversing his only Centennial Conference loss of the season to nationally-ranked Mark Fallati. The junior co-captain won the first set by a 6-3 score and was up 3-0 in the second before the team score was decided. David Kong was up a set after a 7-6 win to start his singles match, while Kevin Yan fell by a 7-6 score to start his rematch against a regionally-ranked foe.

Men's tennis finishes its season with an 11-7 overall record. All seven of the team's defeats came to nationally-ranked opponents. In addition to its senior class playing in its final match on Saturday, the conference semifinals also marked the final match of head coach Sean Sloane's decorated career. Sloane's teams won 214 tennis matches during his 21 year coaching career at Haverford. Sloane, who announced his retirement earlier this spring, saw his team advance to at least the conference semifinals in 12 of the conference's first 13 team championship tournaments.