Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis Topples USciences, 6-1

Raja Arul
Raja Arul

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College men's tennis team took down Division II University of the Sciences by a 6-1 score on Wednesday afternoon. The Fords (8-7) won the doubles point early against the Devils (11-10) and proceeded to capture five of the six singles matches. Wednesday's match marked the final non-conference dual of the regular season for Haverford.

A pair of 6-2 wins in the second and third doubles matches gave Haverford the doubles point. In the middle doubles pairing, Raja Arul and David Kong improved to 4-1 together this spring. At No. 3 doubles, the pairing of Eli Phelps and Nick Sweeney won their second match together this spring. The Devils' lone win in doubles came in the top position as Haverford's regionally-ranked pairing of Josh Moskovitz and Dais Nakayama was edged out by a 6-4 score.

All five of Haverford's singles victories came in straight sets. Three of those matches featured Ford players running off a 6-0 score in one of the sets. Kevin Yan (No. 3 singles) and Arul (No. 6 singles) each won by 6-3, 6-0 scores. Yan and Arul now both have seven wins in singles this year. Ishaan Prinz reversed those set scores in his match at No. 5 singles, winning 6-0, 6-3. Prinz continues to be tied for the team lead with 10 singles wins on the year.

Phelps matched Prinz's win total with his 10th singles victory of the year. He was a 6-2, 6-4 winner in the fourth singles match. Nakayama prevailed in a hard-fought 6-4, 6-4 match to give Haverford its final team point of the evening. Nakayama now has six wins in singles. University of the Sciences got its only team point of the night during the No. 1 singles match. Moskovitz forced a 10-point tiebreak with a 6-3 win in the second set, but was edged out by a 10-8 score in the deciding points.

Men's tennis heads out on the road for the final time during the regular season this Saturday as the team travels to Dickinson. First serves in that Centennial Conference match are scheduled for 1 p.m.