Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Soccer Receiving Votes in Final USC National Poll

Men's Soccer Receiving Votes in Final USC National Poll

United Soccer Coaches Association Postseason Poll

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College men's soccer team finished its year receiving votes nationally in the postseason voting conducted by the United Soccer Coaches Association. The Fords are one of eight teams listed as receiving votes in the coach's final top 25 poll of the season.

Haverford finished the year with a 14-4-1 record and won the Centennial Conference for the fourth time in program history. The Fords won 11 straight matches at one point to help them capture the program's third conference crown in four seasons. Each of those last three championship campaigns has wrapped up on Walton Field after Haverford earned the right to host the Centennial Conference Tournament by virtue of a first-place finish during the regular season those years.

The Fords finished the 2018 season with a perfect 10-0 record on Walton Field as their only official home loss of the season came against William Paterson during the Jimmy Mills Tournament when those games were moved to Bryn Mawr due to wet field conditions. Capping that perfect 10-0 record on Walton Field was Nick Jannelli's game-winning overtime goal against Franklin & Marshall during the Centennial Conference Championship match.

Haverford's 11 match winning streak was the second longest in program history as the Fords won 16 straight en route to the Elite Eight during the 2015 campaign. Haverford will enter the 2019 season with a 12 match unbeaten streak as the Fords tied New York University in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament before falling in penalty kicks. Haverford has now won 24 straight Centennial Conference regular season games on Walton Field and is unbeaten in its last 25 matches dating back to the 2013 season. Both of those marks are program records.

The Fords made their seventh NCAA Tournament appearance in program history this fall. In addition to their Centennial Conference Championship seasons in 2012, 2015, 2016, and 2018, Haverford also appeared on the national stage in 1976, 1977, and 1980.