Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Fords capture Drew Fall Festival title

Fords capture Drew Fall Festival title

MADISON, N.J. - The Haverford College men's soccer team captured the championship of the Drew University Fall Festival with a 3-1 victory over SUNY Geneseo on Saturday afternoon.

Ford Bohrmann, named the offensive MVP of the tournament, keyed the victory with his second game-winning goal in as many days.The senior forward gave the Fords (2-0) the early lead in the contest when he knocked home a rebound at the 15-minute mark of the first half.

Matthew Clausen came close to pushing the Haverford advantage to two almost 20 minutes later but Geneseo goalie Dan Maddock corralled the freshman's header attempt.

The Knights (0-1-1) got on the board when Rich Bellusci struck 18 minutes into the second half. Haverford goalie Nick Kahn made the initial save on a Pat Lynch free kick but Bellusci made the rebound count to knot the score at 1-1.

Looking to regain the lead, the Fords turned up the pressure and forced Maddock (0-1-1) to make tough stops on headers by Brady Seitz and Colin Seitz.

A handball in the box with 10 minutes remaining in the contest gave Haverford an opportunity to break the tie on a penalty kick attempt and Bohrmann once again delivered in customary fashion. Bohrmann accounted for both game-winning goals during the Fords' run to the 2012 Centennial Conference tournament title and he further solidified his role as difference-maker with the winning tally in a 3-2 victory over host Drew on Friday night. Bohrmann, with four goals in the season's first two contests, has already surpassed his 2012 goal total (three).

Freshman Dorian Wirz capped the scoring with his first collegiate goal in the closing minutes of the game.

Kahn (2-0) made two saves to earn the win while fellow senior Adam Morollo picked up defensive MVP honors.

Haverford, who previously claimed the Fall Festival title in 1987, returns to action on Sept. 7 against Vassar College at 3:30 p.m. as it hosts the two-day Jimmy Mills Classic.