Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Aronowitz Repeats Second-team All-CC Honor, Vassighi named Honorable Mention

Aronowitz Repeats Second-team All-CC Honor, Vassighi named Honorable Mention

Full Centennial Conference Release

HAVERFORD, Pa. - Haverford College field hockey senior co-captain defender Caroline Aronowitz was named second-team All-Centennial Conference for the second consecutive season, while junior attacker Roxy Vassighi was tabbed honorable mention, the conference office announced in its yearly postseason awards release this morning. 

Aronowitz took home an honorable mention during her sophomore campaign, and repeats second-team honors after once again anchoring a fortified Haverford backline that limited opponents to just 1.50 goals per contest, the fifth-best mark in the Centennial Conference. Aronowitz started all 17 games this season and tallied five defensive saves, the second-best mark among defenders in Centennial Conference play. The Columbus, Ohio product added two assists on the season, playing a vital role in Haverford's penalty corner offense. Aronowitz tallied 13 defensive saves in her Haverford career, the 11th best mark in program history. 

Vassighi earns honorable mention after leading Haverford in assists (nine) and ranking second on the team in total points (19). Her nine assists were second in the Centennial Conference, while her six during conference play topped the leaderboard. 

The Moorestown, N.J. product started all 17 games for Haverford, and was named the Centennial Conference Offensive Player of the Week on October 22 after notching an impressive nine points in a 2-0 week for Haverford. The offensive outburst included a pair of goals and four assists in a 7-3 win over Washington College. Vassighi's four assists against the Shorewomen were the most in the program's single-game history and also marked just the 10th time in conference history that a player registered four or more assists in a single contest. 

In addition to the pair of All-Conference honors, senior co-captain midfielder Lucy Tortolani was named to the All-Sportsmanship team. One member of each squad in the conference is named to the team on an annual basis.

Lilly Mynott of Franklin & Marshall was named the Offensive Player of the Year in the conference, while her teammates Melissa Gula and Darby Klopp were named Defensive Player of the Year, and Rookie of the Year, respectively.  Bryn Mawr Head Coach Victor Brady was named the Centennial Coach of the Year for the second straight season after leading Bryn Mawr to its first ever Centennial Conference tournament berth. 

Haverford will now await the release of the NFHCA All-Region Awards, which are slated to be released later this month.