Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cricket Welcomes Back Alumni

Cricket Welcomes Back Alumni

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College cricket team welcomed its alumni back for a match at Cope Field last Saturday.

Twenty-one former players returned to campus, with graduation years ranging from 1972 to 2014, to join Haverford's current varsity team for the match. The squad split up into three teams of eleven, agreeing to bat twenty overs each. Arunabh Ghosh '03, Thomas Leonard '13, and Tariq Khondker '06 posted the highest batting totals with 30, 22, and 20 respectively. They played against splendid bowling led by Garret McVaugh '04, Reid Sherman '04, Leonard and Neilay Shah '14. All of the alumni had a chance to bowl and bat, each proving that the skills learned on Cope Field never rust.

The Fords will take on the Philadelphia Cricket Club on the road this Saturday with the match scheduled to begin at noon. 

Full list of attendees:
Class of 1972: Paul Hensley
Class of 1974: Brian Smith
Class of 1978: Paul Trapido
Class of 1986: Greg Hume
Class of 1988: Stephen Alvarado, William Dove
Class of 1997: Andy Ewald
Class of 2003: Arunabh Ghosh
Class of 2004: Reid Sherman, Garrett McVaugh
Class of 2006: Doug Genna, Tariq Khondker
Class of 2008: David Hartmann
Class of 2012: Karan Shah, Rushil Gambhir
Class of 2013: Brian Rafferty, Thomas Leonard, Matt Smith
Class of 2014: Bobby Brooks, Max Reinhardt, Neilay Shah