Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Haverford Honors Class of 2018 at Annual Awards Ceremony

Haverford Honors Class of 2018 at Annual Awards Ceremony

Photo Gallery

Senior Tribute (Kevin Goshorn '18, men's lacrosse)

Senior Athlete Award Presentations

Senior Athlete Video Tribute

2017-18 Top 10 Moments

HAVERFORD, Pa. - The Haverford College athletic department celebrated the Class of 2018 at its annual Senior Award Ceremony on Tuesday night in Gooding Arena.

After Haverford College President Kim Benston and Director of Athletics Wendy Smith '87 welcomed the attendees, men's lacrosse player Kevin Goshorn represented the senior class as he gave a reflection of what it means to be a Haverford College student-athlete for four years.

The night also included a video tribute to the senior athletes as well as the department's achievements in competition, the classroom and the community.

Smith closed out the night by announcing the winners of the senior awards determined by the athletic department. The A.W. "Pop" Haddleton Award is given for perseverance, dedication and loyalty, recognizing senior student-athletes for outstanding contribution to an athletic team but who may not have received recognition that, for example, a regular starting player does. Zach Cole (men's lacrosse; squash), Jeremy Evans (men's basketball), and Annika Ulrich (women's tennis) earned the award for their commitment to their respective teams and positive attitudes over their four-year careers at Haverford.

The Stephen G. Cary '37 Award, which is given to the senior who has made the greatest overall impact on the Haverford athletic program through a combination of athletic participation and achievement, leadership, sportsmanship and off-field athletic department involvement, went to Skyler Ellenburg (women's soccer) and Rachel Romens (women's lacrosse).

Skyler Ellenburg was a four-year member of the women's soccer team where she was an All-Centennial Conference performer. Off the field, Ellenburg has been an active member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), serving as the Centennial Conference SAAC Chair. She has also been the department's liaison to Haverford's Center for Career and Professional Advising (CCPA) where she was instrumental in organizing job fairs and leadership activities on campus. Additionally, Ellenburg has worked as a game day student worker in the athletic facilities, equipment and game operations department where she held the responsibility of laundry.

Rachel Romens is also a member of Haverford's SAAC and has worked closely with the conference and national SAAC organizations. Romens attended the national leadership forum in Washington D.C. this winter and was one of the Co-Heads of the Customs program. In that position, she oversaw the entire first-year orientation program. Previously, Romens served as an Honor Code orienteer and committee head within the Customs program. Additionally, Romens has served on the RMJ Executive Board, a program that fosters leadership opportunities and community development on campus. She is also a member of Haverford's strength and conditioning advisory committee. On the field, she led the women's lacrosse team back to the playoffs as the starting goalie on this year's team.

The Gregory Kannerstein '63 Award, formerly the Alumni-Varsity Club Award, was presented to Sierra Berkel and Samantha Wetzel. On the court together, Berkel and Wetzel led the Fords to Centennial Conference playoffs during each of the past four seasons. Haverford finished first in the regular standings and hosted the conference tournament during the 2016-17 season. As seniors, the dynamic duo led the Fords to just the second NCAA Championship appearance in school history.

Sierra Berkel caps her four-year career as the first two-time first-team All-Centennial Conference selection in the history of the women's basketball program. A two-year team captain, Berkel was fifth in the conference in points per game (15.2) and seventh in rebounds per game (8.2) as a senior. Her field goal percentage of 49.6 percent ranked second in the Centennial Conference. She is the program's all-time career record holder in field goal percentage (.507) and is second in field goals made (467) and rebounds (828). She is third in overall points (1,195) in Haverford program history.

Samantha Wetzel garnered her third straight All-Centennial Conference honor this past season. A two-year captain, Wetzel is the Centennial Conference's all-time leader in blocks with 274 to her name and paced the conference yet again in 2017-18 with 3.1 blocks per contest. She finished her career as Haverford's career leader in blocks (274), blocked shots per game (2.6), defensive rebounds (620), and games played (107). She is eighth overall in total points with 1,008.

Katie Sullivan and Henry Woods were the final award winners of the night as both received the Varsity Cup as the most outstanding athletes of the senior class.

Katie Sullivan will wrap up her decorated career on the women's cross country and track & field teams as a seven-time national qualifier and two-time All-American. A three-time All-Centennial Conference performer in cross country, Sullivan has led the Fords to the national championships during each of her final three seasons. Sullivan is a two-time All-American during the indoor track & field season. She was part of Haverford's first-ever relay team to qualify for the NCAA Championships, helping the Fords place third in the distance medley relay during the 2016 championships. She also earned All-American accolades in the mile during the 2017 season and is a two-time outdoor qualifier in the 1,500 meters where she will compete for the final time in her collegiate career next week. She was a four-time individual conference champion in track & field and graduates as a nine-time All-Centennial Conference selection.

Henry Woods, an NCAA Postgraduate Scholar, established himself as an elite distance runner at Haverford, twice finishing as an All-American in Cross Country. Woods was named the 2017 Centennial Conference Runner of the Year and has been an All-Mideast Region selection in the last three cross country seasons. In track & field, Woods has been named an All-Centennial Conference selection eight times. Woods qualified for the 2016 NCAA indoor championships in the DMR and the outdoor championships during each of the past two seasons in the 5,000 meters. He was a part of Haverford's Centennial Conference distance medley winning relay during the 2018 season and captured the 5,000 meter championship during the 2017 season.

Also recognized on Tuesday were those current senior team members who will graduate as owners of school records which includes: Ben Field (men's soccer), Sierra Berkel (women's basketball), Samantha Wetzel (women's basketball), Peter Dudley (men's squash), Isabelle Gotuaco (women's squash), Ben Furlong (baseball), Michael Schwarze (baseball), Ethan Lee-Tyson (baseball), Molly Lausten (women's lacrosse), Josiah Legaspi (men's track & field), Mairead Ferry (women's track & field), Nicole Giannetti (women's track & field), Amelia Keyser-Gibson (women's track & field), Claire Sargent (women's track & field), and Katie Sullivan (women's track & field).