Season Review: Women's track gains invaluable experience

Season Review: Women's track gains invaluable experience

Season Notes: Senior Hope Rainey claimed the 3,000-meter steeplechase crown for the second consecutive year at the Centennial Conference championship meet. Rainey became just the second repeat winner in the women's steeplechase in the history of the conference with a dominating performance (10 minutes, 56.43 seconds) that saw the senior take over 12 seconds off her previous personal-best time while crossing the line over 20 seconds faster than the next closest competitor … Freshman Brittany Steele earned a pair of silver medals at the conference championship meet with second-place finishes in the 100-meter and 200-meter dashes … The Fords finished seventh overall in the final team standings at the Centennial championships … Rainey established a new program record (10:48.21) in the steeplechase at Swarthmore College's Final Qualifier Meet on May 12. The record-breaking performance moved Rainey into ninth on the national qualifier list and she went on to participate in the steeplechase at the national meet as the 10th seed in the field of 22 athletes.

Centennial Conference Champion:

  • Hope Rainey (3,000-meter steeplechase)

Postseason Awards:

Looking Ahead: Coach Fran Rizzo will rely on a veteran-laden roster to move the Fords back to the top of the conference standings in 2015. Seniors Jade Andrade, Katie Balmer, Robin Chernow, Charlotte Lellman, Sedona Murphy, Carolyn Oehrig and Kelley Riffenburgh, along with juniors Maggie Heffernan and Nora Weathers, will join with sophomores Clarice Bourland and Brittany Steele to give Haverford a deep, talented roster that has the ability to be a force in the always tough Centennial Conference.