Four Fords earn spots on All-Centennial women's tennis team

Four Fords earn spots on All-Centennial women's tennis team

The Haverford College women's tennis team authored one of the finest seasons in program history in 2014 as the Fords reached the finals of the Centennial Conference tournament for the first time. The Centennial coaches took notice as Alex Ferrara, Caitlin Gallagher, Robyn Himelstein and Kate Donches were named to the all-conference squad by the league office on Friday afternoon.

Ferrara earned first-team All-Centennial singles honors for the first time in her career for a magnificent senior season that included a 10-0 conference record in the No. 2 spot. The four-year all-conference player claimed a team-high 14 singles wins overall on the year to reach the double-digit mark in singles victories for the fourth straight season. Winning 12 of her final 13 outings of the season, Ferrara, who was also named to the all-sportsmanship team, will graduate with the fifth-most career victories (56) in program history.

Named first-team all-conference in singles for the second straight season, Gallagher went 10-6 at top-flight singles for the Fords including a 7-3 record in Centennial action. The junior will enter her final season in a Haverford uniform with a career winning percentage of .786 (44-14).

Sophomore Robyn Himelstein also earned inclusion to the all-conference first team for singles. Garnering the first All-Centennial recognition of her career, Himelstein went 13-6 at No. 3 with nine victories in straight sets.

Himelstein and Donches landed spots on the all-conference second team in doubles for a standout campaign that included an 8-1 mark at the No.2 doubles position in Centennial matches. Combining to go 12-3 overall on the season, Himelstein and Donches shined against nationally-ranked Johns Hopkins University on March 22 as the duo registered a 9-8 victory over Macie Wilkins and Kaitlin Pfisterer. Donches was also recognized as the conference's scholar-athlete of the year.

Sean Kelleher and Nicole Russo of Franklin & Marshall College were named the coach of the year and rookie of the year, respectively. Swarthmore College's Lia Carlson was voted the player of the year.