Fords garner all-conference track & field honors

Fords garner all-conference track & field honors

LANCASTER, Pa. – The Centennial Conference on Thursday released its 2014 All-Centennial Conference Men's Indoor Track & Field team with 10 athletes from Haverford College earning a spot on the list including the league championship meet's outstanding track performer, the Fords' Christopher Stadler.

Jeffrey Ainsley, Sam Fujimori, Chris Gardner, Gebby Keny, Charlie Marquardt, Cormac Rada, Soren Rasmussen and Jonathan Yellets joined Stadler in earning first-team honors by winning events at the conference championship.

Ainsley and Avi Bregman were tagged for second-team honors with runner-up finishes in their events and Yellets earned honorable mention with a third-place finish in the 200-meter dash.

Stadler was voted the track performer of the meet after capturing both the 3,000- and 5,000-meter runs in championship meet-record times.

Ainsley earned his first-team nod in winning the individual event 60m hurdles and competed his way onto the second-team in the two-day heptathlon, during which he set a school record (8.42 seconds) in the 60m hurdles.

Yellets ran to vicotory in the 400 in addition to his third-place finish in the 200.

Marquardt won the mile run for Haverford and anchored the winning 4x800 relay for the Fords. He was joined on that relay by Keny, Rada and Rasmussen.

Haverford's winning distance medley relay was comprised of Fujimori, Gardner, Rada and Rasmussen.

Bregman earned his second-team stripes by finishing as the runner-up to Stadler in the 3,000.

Pole vaulter Michael Iannacone of Haverford was named to the conference's indoor track & field all-sportsmanship team.

The outstanding performer award for Stadler is his fifth in a row. In consecutive seasons he has been the cross country performer of the year (2012 and 2013), and was voted the track performer of the meet at the indoor and outdoor Centennial championships in 2013.