Season Review: Men's tennis reaches Centennial tournament for fourth straight year

Season Review: Men's tennis reaches Centennial tournament for fourth straight year

Signature Wins: The Fords started Centennial Conference play by winning their first five matches. Haverford swept Gettysburg College, Dickinson College, and Muhlenberg College and owned the top spot in the league through the first week of April. Seniors Andy Dougherty and Matt Romei each won singles matches in a narrow 5-4 win over Franklin & Marshall College to capture the third seed in the conference tournament and help Haverford reach the Centennial semifinals for the fourth straight year.

Season Notes: Andy Dougherty led the Fords with a 13-5 single record in 2014 and went undefeated while playing No. 2 and No. 3 singles ... Sophomore Luis Acaba was Haverford's top player and went 9-6 at No. 1 singles and was named to the All-Centennial first feam ... Captain Matt Romei finished his conference record in individual action at 6-2 and was selected to the all-conference second team ... Acaba and Jacob Youse went 4-2 in doubles action in the Centennial and were named all-conference second team...Matt Romei and Sloan Millman joined forces throughout the season and were named All-Centennial second team players...Harrison Elbert went 4-0 in singles action and was named to the conference's all-sportsmanship team ... Andy Dougherty Won five straight matches from the end of March through April 10.

Postseason Awards:

  • Centennial Conference sportsmanship award: Harrison Elbert
  • All-Centennial Conference: Luis Acaba (first-team singles, second-team doubles), Matt Romei (second-team singles, second-team doubles), Jacob Youse (second-team doubles), Sloan Millman (second-team doubles)
  • Centennial Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Matt Romei
  • Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll: John Cummings, Robert Homan, Zach Mason, Sloan Millman, Matt Romei, Devin Van Dyke

Looking Ahead: Luis Acaba will fortify the top singles spot and with returners Zach Mason, Sloan Millman, and Harrison Elbert the Fords will be in position to reach the conference tournament for a fifth consecutive year. Newcomers and other returners like Eliot Faust and Dhario DeSousa will push to make the starting lineup.