Ten former men's soccer players honored for inclusion to MAC All-Century Team

HAVERFORD, Pa. - The Haverford College men's soccer team took time to recognize several of its former players at halftime of this weekend's 2-1 victory over Swarthmore College for their inclusion to the Middle Atlantic Conference (MAC) All-Century Team.

The honorees joined a record crowd watching Haverford defeat nationally-ranked Swarthmore, clinch its third straight berth in the Centennial Conference tournament and add its point to Haverford's 4-0 Hood Trophy lead.  

As part of its 100th birthday celebration in the 2012-13 academic year, the MAC named Century teams in each sport from each era of MAC history. The history of the conference is broken into three distinct time periods -- 1912 to 1972-73, 1973-74 to 1992-1993 and 1993-94 to today. Haverford was a member of the MAC until becoming part of the newly-formed Centennial Conference in 1993.

Newly inaugurated president Daniel H. Weiss joined athletic director Wendy Smith to congratulate and distribute commemorative coins to Dave Felsen '66, Dan Hogenauer '64, Stan Jarocki '69, Tim O'Neill '80, Brian Shuman '78, James Taylor '71, Matt Zipin '78 and Phil Zipin '78. Howard Morris '86 and Dan Smiley '64 were recognized in absentia.