Gorski highlights five Fords on all-Centennial men's soccer squad

Gorski highlights five Fords on all-Centennial men's soccer squad

LANCASTER, Pa. - The Centennial Conference's release of the all-conference men's soccer team Thursday morning included a strong representation by Centennial-champion Haverford College. Senior Matt Gorski merited first-team accolades while Adam Morollo, Jamie Reingruber, Brady Seitz and Sam Yarosh earned honorable mention recognition.

Gorski, a first-team honoree for the second straight year, tied for the team lead in goals (seven) and points (16). Ranked among the conference leaders in goals per game (0.37) and points per game (0.84), Gorski tallied two game-winning goals on the season and his penalty kick goal against McDaniel on October 20 established a new program record for penalty kicks made in a career (four). Named honorable mention all-conference in 2010, the midfielder ranks 19th in program history in assists with 16.

Also a repeat performer on the all-conference squad, Reingruber started all 19 games this season while tallying one goal and three assists. The junior defender's lone goal of the season was a big one as it proved to be the difference against Marywood University on September 12 and his extra effort against Dickinson late in the first half of the Centennial semifinals led to an assist on the game-winner. A second-team honoree in 2011, Reingruber has been a key cog of a defense that has held 18 of 19 opponents on the season to under two goals.

Morollo, Seitz and Yarosh earned inclusion to the all-conference team for the first time. Morollo, a co-captain, registered one goal on the season while helping anchor the staunch Fords' defense that relinquished only nine goals throughout the conference slate. The reliable junior has started every game of his career.

The freshman tandem of Seitz and Yarosh invigorated the Haverford attack in 2012. Tied for first on the team in points (16), Seitz ranks in the top five in the conference in assists with six. The forward exploded for three unanswered goals against Ursinus in the final home contest of the regular season to propel the Fords to their second-straight playoff appearance. Sharing team-high honors on the year in goals (seven), Yarosh was a constant threat as he led the team in shots on goal (31). He accounted for three game-winners including the lone tally of the game against host Franklin & Marshall on September 22, which provided the Fords their first conference victory of the season.

The all-conference voting, conducted by the coaches, tabbed Javier Mena as the player of the year while Ryan Butler took rookie of the year honors. Eric Wagner of Swarthmore received recognition from his peers with the distinction of coach of the year.

Haverford's season continues Saturday, Nov. 10 in the opening round of the NCAA championships as the Fords take on Wesleyan (Conn.) University at Arcadia University. Game time is 7:30 p.m.