Fords place 3 on All-Centennial team

Fords place 3 on All-Centennial team

LANCASTER, Pa. – Three players from Haverford College's men's lacrosse team have been named to the 2013 All-Centennial Conference Lacrosse Team, as announced by the league office Tuesday. Senior Scott Chanelli was voted a first-team all-conference player while senior Henry Millson and junior Christian Clay were tabbed for second-team honors.

Chanelli posted career-high numbers during his final campaign as a Fords defender, forcing a league-best 47 caused turnovers and scooping up 86 ground balls, which was fourth-most in the conference. His mark of 3.36 caused turnovers per game ranks fifth in NCAA Division III lacrosse, and Chanelli's career total of 182 ground balls is 10th-most in program history.

Clay led the attack for Haverford in 2013 with single-season totals that were career highs. He accumulated 49 points, fourth-most in the Centennial, from 30 goals and 19 assists which were both eighth in the league.

Millson also registered career-high numbers during his senior year, collecting 27 points off 18 goals and nine assists. He totaled 10 goals, combined, over his first three seasons at Haverford. Millson also notched his first two game-winning goals this spring.

The trio of all-conference performers helped Haverford challenge some of the best teams in the nation during the 2013 campaign. The Fords defeated then-No. 15 Franklin & Marshall College, 11-10, on April 20; took then-No. 11 Denison University into triple-overtime before falling, 10-9, to the Big Red; lost a heart-breaking decision, 11-10, to then-No. 4 Washington College after owning one-goal leads over the visiting Shoremen on five different occasions; and lost, 9-8, to second-ranked and Centennial champion Dickinson College in a road contest in Carlisle, Pa.

The Fords' season-ending, 10-9 victory over visiting Swarthmore College provided the clinching point in the 2013 Hood Trophy standings, a friendly competition between the Fords and Garnet that Haverford has captured 23 consecutive years.

2013 All-Centennial Conference Men's Lacrosse team (PDF)