Bissey, Waldis first-time all-conference honorees

Bissey, Waldis first-time all-conference honorees

LANCASTER, Pa. – Senior forward Bryn Bissey and sophomore midfielder Sarah Waldis of Haverford College's field hockey team have been named to the 2013 All-Centennial Conference team, as announced by the league office Monday morning.

Bissey, named to the first-team, and Waldis, a second-team selection, have earned all-league honors for the first time in their careers with Monday's announcement. All-conference selections and awards are voted on by the league's coaches at the end of the regular season and prior to the conference tournament.

The Haverford duo helped lead the 2013 Fords into the semifinal round of the postseason conference tournament for the fifth straight season.

Bissey, a starter in all 19 games this fall, was second on the team in goals (10) and third in points (22) and game-winning goals (2). Her 10 goals tied Bissey's single-season career-high.

Over her four-year career at Haverford Bissey accumulated the second-most game-winners (8) in program history and ranks fifth in goals (33) and is tied for fifth in points (74). She is also tied for first in games played (76).

Waldis played in and started 18 games and spearheaded the Fords' defensive efforts this season, helping Haverford limit opponents to just 34 goals for a 1.79 goals allowed average.

Both Bissey and Waldis earned all-conference academic honor roll selections this fall.

Megan Keenan of Ursinus College, the conference tournament champions, was tabbed the league's player of the year. Dickinson College swept the remaining postseason awards picking up the rookie of the year, Catherine Perlmutter; coach of the year, Caitlin Williams; and scholar-athlete of the year, Katy Schlechtweg, honors.

All-Centennial Field Hockey Team (complete listing)