MAC honors 11 from Haverford soccer on all-century teams

MAC honors 11 from Haverford soccer on all-century teams

ANNVILLE, Pa. – Eleven Haverford College alumni have been tabbed for the Middle Atlantic Conference’s (MAC) All-Century men’s and women’s soccer teams, as released by the league Thursday morning.

Celebrating its 100th birthday, the MAC is releasing all-century teams, broken into eras, during the year beginning this week with five fall-sport teams.

Ten Haverford alumni were voted onto the men’s all-century soccer team beginning with David Felsen ’66, Dan Hogenauer ’64, Stan Jarocki ’69, Dan Smiley ’64 and James Taylor ’71 who were all named to the 1912–1970 all-century team. Howard Morris ’86, Tim O’Neill ’80, Brian Shuman ’78, Matt Zipin ’78 and Philip Zipin ’78 were voted to the 1971–1992 all-century squad.

Wendy Smith ’87, Haverford’s Director of Athletics, was named to the 1912–1992 all-century squad in women’s soccer.

Hogenauer was a two-time All-MAC forward (1962, 1963) and was joined on the 1963 All-MAC South Division squad by teammates Felsen and Smiley. Taylor twice earned all-MAC honors (1969, 1970) for the Fords.

Felsen returned to Haverford to lead the team as its head coach from 1971–1977, compiling a 54-39-7 mark as the leader of a program that captured the MAC Northeast/Southeast Division Championship in 1976 and twice advanced into the NCAA tournament (1976, 1977).

Jarocki was an honorable mention all-conference selection in 1967 and highlighted his career within the MAC as the Fords’ coach from 1978 through 1982 during which he compiled a 43-31-7 record. Jarocki’s teams won three MAC NE/SE division championships and played in the 1980 NCAA tournament.

The Zipin brothers were tabbed for all-MAC honors three times earning all-conference accolades in 1975, 1976 and 1977, with Shuman joining them on the all-conference team in 1976. The 1976 and 1977 Haverford teams advanced into the national postseason playing in the NCAA tournament both years.

O’Neill played for Jarocki and earned all-league honors in 1978 and 1979.

Morris was tabbed the southern division’s most valuable player in 1984 and 1985, picking up first-team honors both years following his second-team selection in 1983.

Smith helped usher in women’s athletics at Haverford. She earned all-MAC soccer honors as a senior forward for the Fords in 1986 and picked up All-American honors in the spring of her final year with the women’s lacrosse team.

In 1993 Smith was named Haverford’s women’s soccer coach and led the team into the NCAA tournament for the first time in program history in 2005. Her coaching career spanned 14 seasons, included a Centennial Conference title in 1995 and ended with a 135-105-20 record during her time on the sideline. In the summer of 2007 Smith was named the director of athletics at Haverford becoming the first female AD in school history.

MAC 100 Men’s and Women’s Soccer Century Teams