Athletics Department announces Hall of Achievement inductees

Athletics Department announces Hall of Achievement inductees

HAVERFORD, Pa. – The Haverford College Athletics Department is pleased to announce the newest inductees into the department’s Thomas Glasser ’82 Hall of Achievement.

The inductees in the Class of 2014 are Evan Jones ’49, David L. Stubbs ’77, Patricia Dinella McMillan ’86, Amanda Figland ’88 and Seamus McElligott ’91. The group will be inducted on Friday, May 30 in an on-campus ceremony during the College’s Alumni Weekend.

Jones is a two-time men’s soccer All-America selection who captained the Fords in 1947 and 1948. A four-year letter winner he scored three goals in the title game of the 1946 MASC championship contest as Haverford captured the crown over Johns Hopkins University.

Stubbs pulled down 871 rebounds during his career, a total that continues to rank as second-most in program history. His career point total of 1,461 is still third-most by a Haverford player. During Stubbs’ career with the Fords, the team reached double-figures in wins three times including a program-high 18 in his senior season.

Dinella McMillan and Figland overlapped in their time at Haverford, helping to establish a solid foundation for the women’s tennis program in its early years.

The program began in 1983 and by the time Figland graduated in 1988 both she and Dinella McMillan had been named Intercollegiate Tennis Association all-Americans two times. Over the first six seasons of women’s tennis at Haverford the duo helped lead the team to a combined 76-31 record. Both were honored with the department’s Varsity Cup, presented to the most outstanding athlete in the senior class, following their final year of competition.

One of the most decorated cross country and track athletes in Haverford history, McElligott earned 10 All-American certificates in track and four in cross country. He remains the only Division III cross country runner to achieve all-America status at the Division I level, achieving this feat in 1990. A Varsity Cup honoree, McElligott was the MVP of the track team in 1989, 1990 and 1991, and the cross country MVP all four of his years at Haverford during which the Fords captured the Middle Atlantic Conference’s cross country title each season.

The indoor track & field programs continue to host the annual McElligott Invitational in his honor and at the meet’s conclusion present the McElligott Award, honoring the most outstanding single performance in the Invitational.