Hall of Achievement inducts Class of 2014

Hall of Achievement inducts Class of 2014

Photo Gallery l Induction Ceremony Video

HAVERFORD, Pa. - The Haverford College Department of Athletics celebrated its proud history on Friday night as five new members were inducted into the Thomas Glasser '82 Hall of Achievement.

Evan Jones '49, David L. Stubbs '77, Patricia Dinella McMillan '86, Amanda Figland '88 and Seamus McElligott '91 entered the department's hall of fame during a ceremony at Founders Great Hall in conjunction with Alumni Weekend.

Attendees enjoyed a reception and dinner honoring the sixth induction class in the history of the Hall of Achievement which every two years recognizes selected alumni who have made significant contributions to the success of Haverford College athletics. Through their outstanding achievements, these individuals helped to define excellence for and bring distinction to Haverford and its athletic program.

Master of ceremonies Kevin Foley '83, a 2008 inductee, kicked off the night by sharing stories about Glasser and how it is fitting that the College's Hall of Achievement is dedicated in his close friend's memory. Glasser was Haverford's Varsity Cup winner as the outstanding athlete in the Class of 1982 and a gold medal winner in the 4x400-meter relay at the 1981 Maccabiah Games in Israel.

Jones, presented by Jim Wood '50, made an instant impact on the Haverford men's soccer program upon his arrival on campus in 1945. Earning a spot as a starting center forward, Jones averaged an amazing 3.25 points per game over the Fords' eight-game schedule. A three-time All-American, Jones still owns the program records in points per game (2.69) and goals per game (1.29). The all-around athlete also spent time running sprints for Pop Haddleton's track team and playing cricket in the spring. Jones, who resides in England, accepted through videotaped remarks.

Stubbs, presented by his former coach Tony Zanin, became the first Haverford basketball player to surpass 1,000 points and 700 rebounds over the course of his career. The consummate team player still ranks among the program's career leaders in rebounds (second), field goals made (second), points (tied for third), free throws made (seventh) and scoring average (eighth). Stubbs was an integral part of the 1977 squad that established the program mark for wins in a season (18) on its way to its second appearance over three years in the Middle Atlantic Conference South Finals.

Head coach Ann Koger had the opportunity to present two of the finest players in the history of the women's tennis program in Dinella and Figland. Dinella was named the Most Valuable Player of the women's tennis team all four years of her career and her singles winning percentage of .811 remains the highest in program history. A two-time Intercollegiate Tennis Association All-American, Dinella made history as a junior when she became the first Haverford women's tennis player to be ranked nationally.

Figland finished her tennis career with the most victories (106) in Haverford history. During her career, Figland qualified for the NCAA women's tennis tournament in each of her four seasons and was nationally ranked all four years. Figland climbed to No. 9 in the Intercollegiate Tennis Coaches Association national poll in 1988, which remains the highest rank for any women's tennis player at Haverford.

Coach Tom Donnelly brought the night to a close by giving insight into the final honoree of the night McElligott, who was one of the most decorated cross country and track athletes in Haverford history. A six-time national champion, McElligott holds the distincton of being the last Division III student-athlete to also earn D-I All-America status (cross country 1990, outdoor track 1991). McElligott, who earned 14 All-America certificates while running for Haverford, unexpectedly passed away in 1998 at the age of 29. Sandra McElligott accepted her son's posthumous award.